Pakistan kay funkaar

Standard

Pakistan is an absolutely wonderful country where you are bound to find something interesting and entertaining in one form or the other. If you are having a dull day, be sure to check you are in the right country because every day of the week in Pakistan is ridden with a wide spectrum of events. All this is thanks to (no, not Almighty Allah) the wonderful, colorful and ever so enthusiastic people who inhabit this lovely place. The level at which the minds of our people function is something which I feel is not stressed upon enough. To make it simpler for you and in spirit of being more specific (something which I battle with on a day to day basis, but that is a story for another day) I am talking about the tag lines seen on the back of cars and rickshaws, amongst other things. Call it their sense of humor or a serious form of self-expression, it is something that has never failed and will never cease to make me give a silent applaud to the dexterity and genius of our people. The day I realized the worth of these, I decided to forever capture these works of art in pictures so that at some point in time I could go through them, have a good laugh and just appreciate the amount of creativity ordinary citizens on the roads are inundated with.

Besides, talking about the funniest and strangest things you have seen on the back of vehicles is actually a good topic for conversation (again, something I struggle with but we will get to that someday. If you are lucky).

Here I share with you my collection; a plethora of pictures I was lucky enough to capture with my forever loyal companion; my dearest cell phone. I have had to tailgate cars to get good pictures so do not think of this as an ordinary endeavour but the height of an enthusiast’s love for art. This is where I shut up and let the people speak for themselves. I hope you all enjoy these as much as I did.

 

ImageImage

 

Let’s start with the most common one. “That’s all dua to my parents” is probably the most used line and it’s such a hot favourite that it has become a classic. “It’s all prayers of my parents” is another take on the original version but with of course the same idea. May we all be blessed with such grateful offspring.

Image Image

Image

Sometimes you come across names that really make you curious as to who that person is and what he/she looks like. “Bablu”,  “Bhalu Don” & “Teddy Pehelwan” are actually very interesting names. I might just name my kids something of the sort.  

Image

Well, if this guy says he’s not a terrorist because his name is Vicky, who are we to argue? He sure convinced me.

Image

Have you ever seen someone with a stick figure haircut? If no, here’s your first. If yes, you can still admire this work of art.

Image

.   I guess this is pretty self-explanatory

Image

Only in Pakistan will you find Uncle Sam on the back of a garbage truck asking you what you have done for mother nature.

Image

I’m not sure I want to know what they put in their shawarmas.

Image

I guess when Saith tells you not to mess with him, you don’t.

Image

Zidi Rajpoot wants his lover back because; well, he needs her love.

15 responses »

  1. Hahaha this is my favorite article! I’ve seen stuff like around Lahore a million times and the fact that you came up with a collection of it is just amazing!

Leave a Reply

